Setting Up Automated Syncs
After you have successfully imported your first set of data, you can setup the server to automatically synchronize data on a nightly basis.
- Under Settings, turn on Sync, specify a time and click save.
- Enter any email address you would like Sync Summaries to be delivered to by clicking the '+' icon, entering the email, and clicking save. Addresses can be removed by clicking the '-' icon.
Setting Up Thresholds
Thresholds allow you to stop a sync if a certain number of changes are detected during a sync process.
- Enter a number for the allowed number of changes in each of your files. 0 will not allow any changes, while leaving the field blank will allow all changes.
Data successfully imported into OneRoster is marked with a status of 'active'. If, on a subsequent import, imported data is modified in a way that makes it invalid (For example, removing a user's name), or deleted from the CSV entirely, the data is not actually removed from the OneRoster server. Instead, it is marked with a status of 'tobedeleted'. These records have a status of 'tobedeleted' until an import is done with the modifications corrected (in the case of records being modified and invalid) or returned to the CSV. The options under Removal allow for deletion from the server of records marked 'tobedeleted'.
Deletion from the server cannot be undone, so be absolutely sure you want to remove data.
Clicking 'Purge' in the screenshot above will remove 'tobedeleted' records that are older than 180 days.