Product: Roster Server
Audience: ClassLink Administrator
- Setting Up Automated Syncs
- Setting Up Thresholds
- Reset All
- Purging Data
- Turning Daily Email Reports On
Setting Up Automated Syncs
After you have successfully imported your first set of data, you can setup the server to automatically synchronize data on a nightly basis.
1. Settings -> General -> Daily Sync -> Enable Daily Sync.
2. Specify a Sync Time.
3. If desired, enable and set a Daylight Saving Time.
4. If desired, set a Sync Blackout period - daily syncs will not occur during this period.
5. Enter any email address you would like Sync Summaries to be delivered to by clicking the '+' icon. Email addresses can be removed by clicking the red - icon.
6. Click Save.
Note: ClassLink recommends that districts set Blackout Dates to maintain their current data set until the summer SIS rollover is complete. While your sync is in the blackout period, ClassLink will not perform any imports from your SIS. The current school year data will be preserved in ClassLink for the duration of the blackout. Your vendors will still have access to the last data set imported into Roster Server. The Blackout Start Date will be the first day your sync is paused. ClassLink recommends this is your last day of school. The Blackout End Date will be the last day your sync is paused. ClassLink recommends this date is set to after your SIS rollover is complete.
Setting Up Thresholds
Thresholds allow you to stop a sync if a certain number of changes are detected during a sync process. Thresholds can be enabled by enabling the toggle in Settings -> General -> Thresholds.
Note: Enter a number for the allowed number of changes in each of your files. Zero (0) will not allow any changes, while leaving the field blank will allow all changes. It is recommended to set thresholds at 10% or less of your file data.
If ever needed this button will serve as a kill all running services feature. This button will stop any running import, export, permission calculations, manual records imports, connectors, etc.
Note: This button should be used with caution, and will cause some errors for up to two minutes after it has completed.
The reset all button can be found from Settings -> General -> Miscellaneous.
After confirming you want to reset all, you will see a loading bar. Once this bar has reached a 100% and disappears, you may see some errors while using Roster Server for up to two minutes.
Data successfully imported into the Roster Server is marked with a status of active. If on a subsequent import, imported data is modified in a way that makes it invalid (for example, removing a user's name), or deleted from the CSV entirely, the data is not actually removed from the Roster Server. Instead, it is marked with a status of tobedeleted. These records have a status of tobedeleted until an import is done with the modifications corrected (in the case of records being modified and invalid) or returned to the CSV. The options under Removal allow for deletion from the server of records marked tobedeleted.
Purging data can be done from Settings -> General -> Miscellaneous.
Note: Deletion from the server cannot be undone, so be absolutely sure you want to remove data.
Clicking Purge in the screenshot above will remove tobedeleted records that are older than 180 days.
Turning Daily Email Reports On
Daily emails regarding the status of your Roster Server can be enabled by entering in your email address in the box labeled Import Report Email Recipients. You can control how many emails you want to receive as well.
Successful will send an email if the sync was successful.
Validation Errors will only send an email if there is a validation error with your data.
Thresholds Exceeded will only send an email if a large number of changes in your data are detected.