Product: Roster Server
Audience: ClassLink Administrator
Setting Up Automated Syncs
After you have successfully imported your first set of data, you can setup the server to automatically synchronize data on a nightly basis.
1. Settings -> General -> Daily Sync -> Enable Daily Sync.
2. Specify a Sync Time.
3. If desired, enable and set a Daylight Saving Time.
4. If desired, set a Sync Blackout period - daily syncs will not occur during this period.
5. Enter any email address you would like Sync Summaries to be delivered to by clicking the '+' icon.
6. Click Save.
Email addresses can be removed by clicking the red - icon.
Setting Up Thresholds
Thresholds allow you to stop a sync if a certain number of changes are detected during a sync process. Thresholds can be enabled by enabling the toggle in Settings -> General -> Thresholds.
Data successfully imported into the Roster Server is marked with a status of active. If on a subsequent import, imported data is modified in a way that makes it invalid (for example, removing a user's name), or deleted from the CSV entirely, the data is not actually removed from the Roster Server. Instead, it is marked with a status of tobedeleted. These records have a status of tobedeleted until an import is done with the modifications corrected (in the case of records being modified and invalid) or returned to the CSV. The options under Removal allow for deletion from the server of records marked tobedeleted.
Purging data can be done from Settings -> General -> Miscellaneous.
Clicking Purge in the screenshot above will remove tobedeleted records that are older than 180 days.
Turning Daily Email Reports On
Daily emails regarding the status of your Roster Server can be enabled by entering in your email address in the box labeled Import Report Email Recipients. You can control how many emails you want to receive as well.
Successful will send an email if the sync was successful.
Validation Errors will only send an email if there is a validation error with your data.
Thresholds Exceeded will only send an email if a large number of changes in your data are detected.